banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

Drums and old Hindi film songs at 100 decibels

It’s impossible to think with this din. I feel as if my brain is being battered. One wedding and two days of persistent noise. If the sound blares so on the 13th floor, what is it like for those down there, and how can they tolerate it? How can this be their idea of fun or celebration? I hate these people. I curse them, may their marriage never work.

16 comments on “Drums and old Hindi film songs at 100 decibels

  1. Grasshopper
    November 20, 2008

    Take the next train and come to Bangalore. I don’t have a tv, radio,
    and the atmosphere around is very quiet too.

  2. Anonymous
    November 20, 2008

    ” I curse them, may their marriage never work.”

    Isn’t that a bit mean? Disproportionately mean?

  3. Banno
    November 20, 2008

    Thanks, Grasshopper. AM running away.

    Anonymous, oh yes, I felt really mean. Sorry.

  4. shankari
    November 20, 2008

    I have a Kalyana-mantapa in the neighbourhood and often times I can hear the nadaswaram and drum loud and clear – esp, early in the mornings. I am constantly amazed that people go through all this tamasha to get married and beget children.

    *bemused* :-/

  5. illusionaire
    November 20, 2008

    Cursing them I can understand, from what you must have gone through. But cursing their marriage? eeeps, sends a shiver down my spine! Because it sounds too precise and personal. Like if someone tells me “I curse you” I’ll be like “uhuh”, but if someone says “I curse your third unborn son who will be born on Feb 17th, 2014″ now that is scary! :)

  6. bollyviewer
    November 21, 2008

    Poor you! Sound pollution is horrible. Its hard to even hear yourself think with all the noise! I cant understand why celebrations need to be so loud and so lacking in consideration to others. The one thing about India that I dont miss in Canada is the festive occasions, which always translated into bad song recordings blaring at the highest possible decibel levels!

    Hope your noise pollution gets over soon and you can return to sanity.

  7. dipali
    November 21, 2008

    My sympathies, Banno!
    I hate noisy celebrations too.
    Just recovering from one in the next building, which was LOUD.

  8. Unmana
    November 23, 2008

    Your society people allowing that? Can’t you complain or something?

  9. Scribblers Inc
    November 25, 2008

    This is a SOOPER blog! Geez, thats one of the most creative blog names ever da! And before I am asked to begone from this place for acting like a stoopid boy, let me congratulate you once again for having one of the coolest blogs in blogville…Shit, I am stuck..

    Scribblers Inc.

  10. illusionaire
    November 27, 2008

    Are you guys safe and sound?

  11. Banno
    November 27, 2008

    Thanks all of you for your sympathy. My curse was in jest. If all the people I had cursed or killed with my looks had been affected, I would have been somewhere else, jail, probably.

    Scribbler, well, I’m flattered.

    Just want to let all of you know, we are safe. Yes. I am in Goa, but … Just shitty, this entire business.

  12. Shweta Mehrotra Gahlawat
    December 3, 2008

    Hi Banno- glad to know ur OK. Stay safe

  13. @lankr1ta
    December 3, 2008

    Completely second the thoughts!

  14. memsaab
    December 6, 2008

    Can’t wait to see what you next have to say :-) Glad you are all okay.

  15. Grasshopper
    December 7, 2008

    Hi, darling,

    The wedding must be done, they are now probably divorced! Come back, Dhanno. Missing you.

  16. Banno
    December 7, 2008

    Thanks, Shweta and Alankrita.

    Memsaab, Grasshopper, my next post is dedicated to both of you. :-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2008 by in bumm-bumm-bhole land, real world.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

