banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

and banno goes flying

I hugged Reema Borah who showed us her diploma, ‘Chaatak’ made for the acting students of 2008-2010, and told her my love story.

I hugged her cameraman husband, Sandeep Patil, and told him my love story.

I hugged the band members of A-Void, and pulled their lovely, long pony tails.

I hugged Shedge-ji, the driver of the FTII bus, and thanked him for looking after baby Dhanno all those years ago, when she slept in her cradle in the middle of the bus, while we shot our diploma film outside on the wet, rainy streets of Mumbai.

I almost hugged Dutta, the FTII sweeper, a regular fixture at most FTII parties.

I did not hug my senior, Naresh Sharma, whose beer I was bumming, but told him that I had a right to the beer, because he had ragged me so badly when we were students. He refused to accept that he ragged me, but he conceded that I had a right to the beer.

I hugged the boy who came to me to write in my book of email ids, which I had been compiling through the day to update the wisdomtree mailing list. I told himĀ  we’d find him somehow, or he’d find us, even without mailing ids. Now it was time to dance. I proceeded to dance with him.

I hugged the boy who was playing the mridang for us to dance to, and the boy who was playing the garbage bin.

I scolded the band members of A-Void for playing Bon Jovi, A R Rehman, and Potla, and not playing their own songs, and pulled their lovely, long ponytails again.

I went up to a boy and said, “Here’s a hug at random, for you.” He hugged me back, just for random’s sake.

I hugged Teja, every once in a while, for keeping an eye on me, and rescuing people who were being bored by me, and yet letting me be, hugging everyone in sight.

My friends know my hugs come rarely, and Dhanno has to squeeze out an ‘I love you’ from me.

This is the third time I’ve been drunk, in 21 years. Each time at FTII. Each time on a few beers. This time on 2 & 1/2 beers. As Teja says, I can get drunk if I wash my hair with beer.

I wont tell you about the hangover, which lasted a day. It ensures that the next time I get drunk it will not be before 2017.

So, let me throw a few random hugs at all those of you who were not there, all those who left early, and all those who came late.

I hope they suffice until the next time.

18 comments on “and banno goes flying

  1. Space Bar
    March 24, 2010

    and a big, huge, smackeroo hug to you too!

    (will call. i’ll be in bombay april. should meet).

    • Banno
      March 25, 2010

      yay! meet up soon.

  2. Lekhni
    March 24, 2010

    Nice theme and header image. Hope the blogger to wordpress move is going smoothly. Shoot me an email if you need any help.

    • Banno
      March 25, 2010

      Thanks, Lekhni. I was using wordpress for my other blog, ‘Tahuko’. But just reluctant to shift base for ‘Banno, ..’.

  3. mukul
    March 25, 2010

    lovely post, banno.

    • Banno
      March 25, 2010

      :)

  4. kuntal
    March 25, 2010

    Ah those FTII parties … ! I swear right now they seem like another planet. Your post brought back a lot of memories – including some of you dancing happily and shaking your hands in trademark fashion! So I guess for those who attended this one – not much has changed!

    • Banno
      March 25, 2010

      Yes, I’ll never forget the parties your batch threw. And me dancing with a huge belly. And Shanker and you freaking out!

  5. dipali
    March 25, 2010

    Huge huge hugs, Banno dear!

  6. Space Bar
    March 25, 2010

    kuntal, mukul! we also must meet. will call when i get in. ftii party, whee!

  7. memsaab
    March 30, 2010

    Waaaaaaaaaah :( I’m sorry I missed it!!!

    Well, I made you hug me as I recall, even if we were sober :) But possibly that doesn’t count!

    • Banno
      March 30, 2010

      :) And why doesn’t it count??

      • memsaab
        April 1, 2010

        Okay it does! Yay!!!!

        • Banno
          April 1, 2010

          It sure does. :)

          I only like to pretend to be sterner than I actually am.

          • Banno
            April 1, 2010

            BTW, your new avatar pic is cool.

          • memsaab
            April 1, 2010

            It’s also not new ;-) But over at the other place you could not see it :)

  8. Pingback: sweet love | banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

  9. Pingback: sholay in 6D | banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2010 by in back then at FTII, Banno and tagged .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

