banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

a good fight

There are advantages to beginning the day with a long-distance fight with Teja.

I can pretend to be more angry and hurt than I actually am. This is good exercise for the lungs and the lachrymal glands.

Every once in a while, he or I can disconnect. Then we can wait to see who will call first. Either way, it’s win-win. For instance, if he calls first, I am happy. If I call first, it gives me one more reason to fight.

Since he can’t see me, I can stop pretending to be angry and hurt once I put the phone down. I can instantly go back to doing whatever I was doing before he called.

I have a ready-made excuse for not working for the rest of the day. I can tell myself that I am so upset that I need to watch ‘Spanglish

or ‘Kabhi Haan, Kabhi Na

or ‘Shoot the Piano Player‘,

or lie in bed reading ‘Sexus

or ‘The Betelnut Killers

or surf ‘Memsaab Story‘ and ‘Dusted Off‘ and ‘Of this & that‘ and all the other blogs on my blogroll,

to calm down.

It’s what I do anyway, most days I am home, but I can do it without feeling guilty that I am not getting on with my book/script/film/life.

I can eat half of Dhanno’s cheese and salami sandwich as a second breakfast, a piece of dark Toblerone after lunch, and maybe even a scoop of Bavarian chocolate ice-cream after dinner.

I can put my phone on silent mode, and not worry about all the important calls that I’m missing from banks and credit card companies.

Dhanno asks if she can cook dinner for me.

13 comments on “a good fight

  1. dipali
    April 18, 2010

    All options sound good!
    What is Dhanno cooking for you?
    (If she is, that is)

  2. Banno
    April 18, 2010

    She made pizza and garlic bread and a cheese dip, bread and all, from scratch. I’m never eating at Pizza Hut again.

  3. memsaab
    April 19, 2010

    Nooooo!!! Don’t fight with Teja! But if you must I am glad you choose me to hang out with afterwards :) And will Dhanno make all that for me next time I visit?

    • Banno
      April 19, 2010

      Yes! We’ll have to fight a little first, pretend one will do. :)

  4. Cubbu
    April 19, 2010

    Banno next time Banno makes pizza please take a picture and post it. :)

    You bet @ Pizza hut tata.

    • Banno
      April 19, 2010

      Yeah, I should have done that.

  5. Cubbu
    April 19, 2010

    oops…next time dhanno makes pizza*

  6. dipali
    April 19, 2010

    Dhanno’s dinner sounds delicious:)
    Well worth the fight:)

    • Banno
      April 19, 2010

      I know.

  7. dustedoff
    April 19, 2010

    “Since he can’t see me, I can stop pretending to be angry and hurt once I put the phone down. I can instantly go back to doing whatever I was doing before he called.”

    Hehe! And I thought I was the only one who did that.

    • Banno
      April 20, 2010

      Yes, for a long, long time, I thought I was the only callous, unfeeling person in the world. Then, I stopped caring about it. :)

  8. Space Bar
    April 26, 2010

    I missed all these posts! You never told me about pizza! I wanted! Waaaah. (Is this a long-distance fight?)

  9. Banno
    April 27, 2010

    Yes, long, long distance. Though now I’m in Baroda too, so we can fight short-distance. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 327 other followers

