banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

of stereotypes, sins and genders

Dipali and Pallavi tagged me to list at least ten things I have wanted or done which my gender is not supposed to. Being not just A woman, but an Indian woman, seriously influenced by Hindi cinema, I thought that I am:

sadly none of this, whatsoever, no grace, no dancing skills, no utterly, utterly breath-taking beauty.

but maybe, a little bit of this – a little oomph, a bit of a pout, and lots of twists. Also not afraid of dancing in a crowd.

I’d like to claim I’m none of this, but the truth is I can be quite weepy, and clingy, and self-pitying, on a gloomy day.

but I can also be brazen, and tough, and intelligent

And shrewish, and demanding, and spoilt

Flirtatious, and a tease

And while I’m nowhere near physically as strong or able like her, this is what I’d like most to be.

I’m certainly not this – angry at the world, and very, very male chauvinistic

But yes, a little bit of this – a drifter and a dreamer

and a little bit of this – stoic and dignified

and a lot of that – envious, mean, bad, and can go a long way to get what I want. Though what I want is not necessarily good for me, or the universe.

I tag Memsaab, Shweta, Rum, Filmi Geek, Dusted Off, Antara, Shankari, Bollyviewer, Indie Quill, Priya, Aquatic Static and Sharmi

38 comments on “of stereotypes, sins and genders

  1. pushpee
    July 7, 2010

    Fantastic take on this subject, Batul :))

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      :) thanks, pushpee

  2. shweta
    July 7, 2010

    Ooh this is a tough, but good tag. This is going to take some thinking- thanks for the challange! You post is so perfect though-and its rather super to have a Bindu/Nadira/Dev/Pran inner self I think- SO fun!

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      Shweta, can’t wait to see your post.

  3. Sharmi
    July 7, 2010

    Thanks Banno. The post is quite unique too. :)

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      thanks, Sharmi.

  4. Purnima Rao
    July 7, 2010

    Love love love this post. (incidentally, I started working on a blog post last night about what it means to be woman in this country, with my privileges, notions of feminism etc. It was turning out to be rubbish so I didn’t publish it…now you have given me lots to think about).

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      :) good.

  5. dipali
    July 7, 2010

    Banno, this was just fabulous! What an awesome take this is:) Can’t stop grinning:):):):):)

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      Thanks, Dipali. :)

  6. dustedoff
    July 7, 2010

    Loved your take on that, Banno! (and it got me thinking, too…)

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      rubbing my hands in anticipation of your post, dustedoff. :)

  7. surabhi
    July 7, 2010

    banno badi hai mast mast….

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      :), surabhi

  8. bollywoodeewana
    July 7, 2010

    Lovely Post, i love the way you’ve aligned the pictures to each of your points

    • Banno
      July 7, 2010

      No, no, bollywooddeewana, cannot claim to be clever. It’s just the setting on my template, and I liked the way it came up in the preview. :)

  9. memsaab
    July 7, 2010

    Dear lord, I don’t even know where to begin in my lack of womanly arts :D But I will try.

    • Banno
      July 8, 2010

      It’s going to be fun reading, Memsaab. :)

      • memsaab
        July 10, 2010

        Don’t know how fun it is, but it’s up!!!!!

        • Banno
          July 12, 2010

          thanks, Memsaab. will go look.

  10. Pingback: Femina Dentata « IndieQuill

  11. Amrita
    July 8, 2010

    There! Mine is up! Yours is so much more elegant and feminine than mine :(

    • Banno
      July 8, 2010

      Your list is cool, I like strides, and firm handshakes, broad smiles and loud laughters. And I like women who break age-old traditional rules that make no human sense. :)

  12. bollyviewer
    July 8, 2010

    Love your post! And I am SO GLAD that there is no AB in you but there is Balraj Sahni! :)

    Off to think about my choices, now.

    • Banno
      July 8, 2010

      Bollyviewer, want to see your choices. :) No, definitely no AB. I wanted to add Balraj Sahni’s smile too, but that would be presumptuous. :)

  13. Indian Homemaker
    July 9, 2010

    WOW! Loved the way you have done this!!
    “angry at the world, and very, very male chauvinistic” I agree and I have blogged about Amitabh Bachchan too, in one movie he is a police officer and tells Zeenat Aman, who complains against an eve teaser (street sexual molester) “If you wear such clothes, what else do you expect to hear if not whistles? Temple bells?”
    She asks, “What’s wrong with these clothes?”
    And he says, “Bahut kam hain” I am sure any street sexual molester who hears this dialogue must think Taliban is doing a service to the society by protecting it from such badly dressed women.

    • Banno
      July 9, 2010

      Yes, I remember that. In ‘Laawaris’, I think. Done just for ceetis, but so, so base.

      • sunheriyaadein
        August 1, 2010

        It’s from Dostaana! I luv that conversation. I blew a ceeti myself while watching the movie :-)

        • Banno
          August 1, 2010

          Yes, you’re right. It’s from ‘Dostana’, but I think something similar happened in ‘Lawaris’ too with the same actors. :)

  14. Beth
    July 9, 2010

    VERY well done! Succinct and evocative and thought-provoking!

    • Banno
      July 9, 2010

      thanks, Beth. :)

  15. Sue
    July 12, 2010

    LOL Such a fun take! Love the idea of you as Hunterwali. :)

    • Banno
      July 12, 2010

      I love the idea too. Wish it had the remotest possibility of being true. :(

  16. bollyviewer
    July 30, 2010

    My confessions are up too, finally!

    • Banno
      July 30, 2010

      Good, good. Will go look.

  17. the mad momma
    July 31, 2010

    somehow as i read each word I realised that is exactly what I imagine you as being

    • Banno
      July 31, 2010

      :), mad momma

  18. sunheriyaadein
    August 1, 2010

    Came here through bollyviewer’s post…I luv ur take on it. After reading bollyviewer’s post and urs, I’m getting inspired too :-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2010 by in Banno, the movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

