banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

the house in juhu

In the 15 adult years I’ve lived in Bumm-Bumm-Bhole-Land, I don’t remember how many times I must have told a rickshaw wala, “Juhu, near Amitabh Bachchan‘s bungalow”.

If you are going to Prithvi theatre, then you say, “Take it right from Amitabh Bachchan’s bungalow”. Or now, “Take it right from Amitabh Bachchan’s old bungalow”.

Even if all you are doing is going to the bank next to his house, or the apartment building on the other side of the road, or passing by towards Juhu Chowpatty, you look at the large wooden gate, and the security people outside, and speculate is he in, is he out. And on a Sunday, when there is a crowd outside the house, waiting for him to give his weekly salaam, you snigger a bit at the crazy fans, and feel superior to them.

And then yesterday, when I said to the rickshaw-wala, “Juhu, Amitabh Bachchan’s bungalow”, I really meant, “Juhu, Amitabh Bachchan’s bungalow” and I was so kicked about it, that I let the rickshaw-wala take me to the old house, and then said, “No, no, he doesn’t live here any more, I want to go to the new house.”

And I’m not even a crazy fan of Mr. Bachchan.

18 comments on “the house in juhu

  1. Paromita
    August 26, 2010

    :)

  2. Sharmi
    August 26, 2010

    This time when I went to Mumbai I saw Jalsa and I also saw the house where Abhishek and Aishwariya got married :)

    • Banno
      August 27, 2010

      Nice, Sharmi. :)

  3. dipali
    August 26, 2010

    Did you interview the man?

    • Banno
      August 27, 2010

      No, Dipali. Had just gone for some work related to the FTII Alumni association, to meet with Mrs. Jaya Bachchan. :)

      • memsaab
        August 29, 2010

        Was she as sour as she looks? Did he move from the house in Juhu? Aren’t both of his houses in Juhu? Sorry, I’m a little confused by this…
        :) Call me a firangi.

        • Banno
          August 30, 2010

          Memsaab, Actually he now has 3 houses in Juhu. One the old house, Pratiksha, which is the real landmark in people’s minds. Now the house he lives in on another street. And a house which functions as an office. All within a block of each other.

          No, no, Jaya Bachchan is actually very sweet and warm, and looks much more relaxed in real life than she does on screen. :(

          • memsaab
            August 31, 2010

            I’m glad to hear it, I want Guddi to be happy.

            So he doesn’t live in Pratiksha or Jalsa (?) now? I thought Jaya lived in one house and he lived in another. And actually, never mind. I don’t care :D

          • Banno
            August 31, 2010

            Memsaab, he lives in ‘Jalsa’. His parents used to live in ‘Pratiksha’. His office is in ‘Janak’. :)

            And why would Jaya and he live in separate houses? :)

  4. Eveslungs
    August 26, 2010

    ROTFL Banno . Next time I’m there – have to go check out his house :) Can I take you as a guide ?

    • Banno
      August 27, 2010

      Sure, Eveslungs, I can show you all the other film star bungalows too. :)

  5. dustedoff
    August 27, 2010

    He actually comes out for a weekly salaam? :-)) He should have a jharokha-e-darshan like the Mughal emperors used to have: step out on the balcony, wave a regal hand around, bestow a smile on the public, step back in and go have breakfast…

    • Banno
      August 28, 2010

      Probably does. I can’t see him coming out on the street. He’d be mobbed. Well, he does have a huge painting in the style of a Mughal miniature with his life and himself as an emperor depicted in it. Made by a fan. :)

  6. Amrita
    August 29, 2010

    Heheheh. We used to do the same by his parents’ home in Delhi. :D

    • Banno
      August 30, 2010

      Amrita, I don’t know the Delhi house. Should get that done. :)

      • Amrita
        September 2, 2010

        It’s in Gulmohar Park, very tasteful looking from the outside. Stalkers unite!

  7. Eliza Bennet
    August 31, 2010

    I’m a fan (not crazy but a fan) of Amitabh Bachchan and Jaya Bachchan’s acting delights me. It must be nice to meet her. Please more details if you have any. :)

  8. Miss Tina
    May 30, 2013

    Been there, done that. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2010 by in of rickshaws and cars, of shoots and showbiz and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

