banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

love is a rickshaw ride

Orange balloons and a dahi handi in the sky, palm trees swaying,

a little girl selling orange roses scowls, an elephant crosses a signal at rush hour,

a girl sells plastic airplanes, a young man sells peacock feathers,

an old man shuffles by smelling of liniment, a sleeping drunkard in a pink shirt,

Nothing but fragments that mean nothing much against the noise, the noise, the noise of the traffic and the crowd that pushes against my eyes.

The fragments don’t seem to be enough to compensate for my life that is being sucked away by the city.

And then I see the city with other eyes. I speak of it, and in my voice, I can hear the love which comes from knowing so many corners of it so well, and I feel the wonder once again of how many corners I don’t know yet.

16 comments on “love is a rickshaw ride

  1. Purnima Rao
    September 7, 2010

    I love the combination of stills with what you’ve written. And since most of my life is spent in auto-rickshaw (the moments, the moments), this post is a personal favourite :)

    • Banno
      September 8, 2010

      Purnima, me too. Sometimes, I want to start screaming the minute I sit in a rickshaw, and I find it entering yet another traffic jam. :)

  2. Eveslungs
    September 7, 2010

    I loved this Banno . You go down the same streets maybe and every once in a while you discover something new .

    • Banno
      September 8, 2010

      Eveslungs, yes, there are a lot of streets I go down all the time, but luckily my work in documentary always takes me some place new too quite often.

  3. memsaab
    September 7, 2010

    I kind of want to be a rickshaw wali, except I’d get eaten alive by the traffic :( But my own little autorickshaw to decorate and drive around in? BLISS.

    • Banno
      September 8, 2010

      :) Memsaab, you’d make a gorgeous rickshaw-wali. Much like Basanti and her tonga. You could take a rickshaw back home.

      • memsaab
        September 9, 2010

        Ooh, it would be useful for getting around city streets here!!!! If I were allowed to drive it on the streets, which I wouldn’t be unless I did a lot of work getting it up to code.

        How I love the idea of being Basanti with my own Dhanno :)

        • Banno
          September 12, 2010

          :)

  4. surabhi
    September 8, 2010

    and someday we should go together to some unexplored part of the city. game?

  5. surabhi
    September 8, 2010

    and this is why i love the city too. with its familiar, sometimes surreal, sometimes wildly unreal nooks scattered across.

    • Banno
      September 12, 2010

      Yes, we should really. I want to go back to walking around the city. I still do it in South Mumbai, but seems next to impossible in these parts.

  6. dustedoff
    September 8, 2010

    I love those images you’ve captured… poetic photography.

  7. Violet
    September 8, 2010

    Nice pictures. You always amaze me with your ability to find the uncommon among the most mundane, routine stuff..

    • Banno
      September 12, 2010

      Thanks, dustedoff, Violet. :)

  8. Eveslungs
    September 8, 2010

    Banno next time in Bombay can I come along too ?

    • Banno
      September 12, 2010

      Eveslungs, do, do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2010 by in of rickshaws and cars, of windows and worlds and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

