banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

dolat ram’s question

I have been trying in the last few months to get out there and film.

I bought the camera, the expensive camera bag, the radio mike, the monopod, the sling bag, the shoes, the laptop, the editing software. And I even have the idea.

But since I made the 2 hour documentary from which this 1 minute is extracted, I have lost my naiveté, and I find myself, in a long, long time, with a blank in my head, or rather with confusion and questions, instead of even a semblance of certainty.

I am finally asking myself the same questions that this old mendicant, Dolat Ram, outside a temple in Bhuj, asked me one evening, 10 years ago.

Perhaps soon my keyboard or my camera or both, will find an answer.

9 comments on “dolat ram’s question

  1. shweta
    November 13, 2010

    that is brilliant Banno. thank u.

  2. dustedoff
    November 14, 2010

    Superb. Really makes you think…

    • Banno
      November 16, 2010

      Thanks, Shweta, Dusted off. :)

  3. Shabnam Sukhdev
    November 14, 2010

    Superb character Batul. Can’t wait to hear more of what he has to say.

    • Banno
      November 16, 2010

      Shabnam, I used only this bit for my film. But I do have another half hour at least with him in my rushes. I would have loved to follow him, but the next day, he just avoided me and my camera :(

  4. memsaab
    November 16, 2010

    Hang in there and you will get flash in your brain :) Sometimes brain just needs a little darkness and rest.

    • Banno
      November 16, 2010

      True, Memsaab, I’m hoping some old Hindi films will also help. But all they do is make me content in my laziness. :)

  5. dipali
    November 19, 2010

    Despite what Dolat Ram says, there is always value in bearing witness to life as it is.
    And that helps in knowing who you are, too !!!

    • Banno
      November 19, 2010

      Thank you, Dipali. You always know how to give one a push on. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2010 by in my docu '150 Seconds Ago' and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

