banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

and that’s part of what we spent 9 crores on ….

I know I ought to be writing about the meaningful cinema I saw, and the people I networked with, and the usual chaos of government organized IFFI, the mad scramble for tickets, houseful shows and empty auditoriums, people snoring beside one or crunching popcorn incessantly or discussing their dispositions on their cell phones

but blue-breasted King Kong seems to obstruct every thought,

and dazed, I offer this ..

 

24 comments on “and that’s part of what we spent 9 crores on ….

  1. Beth
    December 3, 2010

    Too awesome for words! I hope BBKK will make an appearance on KWK.

    • Banno
      December 4, 2010

      Beth, what is KWK??

      • Beth
        December 4, 2010

        Koffee with Karan! BBKK would make a much more interesting guest than his usual lineup, no?

        • Banno
          December 5, 2010

          :) these days though he has new wine in old bottles, every one’s brought out their claws. so yes, bbkk would fit right in.

        • Banno
          December 5, 2010

          these days though he has new wine in old bottles, every one’s brought out their claws. so yes, bbkk would fit right in.

  2. Sharmi
    December 4, 2010

    ha ha …well said …awesome :)

    • Banno
      December 4, 2010

      :)

  3. dustedoff
    December 4, 2010

    There MUST be some deeper meaning to this. There has to be.

    • dustedoff
      December 4, 2010

      … or at least I’m hoping against hope that there is.

      • Banno
        December 4, 2010

        Dustedoff, I’m still looking for the deeper meaning. :) But I guess it’s nothing more than ‘decoration’, nice way to spend public money.

        • dustedoff
          December 5, 2010

          If only ‘decoration’ would be made the responsibility of someone with an aesthetic sense (though, of course, that begs the question: how pick who has an aesthetic sense?). This actually reminds me of the dustbins at the Delhi Zoo. The impressive Purana Qila looms in the background; in front, are gaudily painted, dungaree-clad plastic chimpanzees and ducks and giraffes.

          • Banno
            December 5, 2010

            maybe some genuine artistes, for a change, and not mandap walas?? baroda for instance, has some really nice installations in its roundabouts, though the standard there has fallen too, recently.

  4. Purnima Rao
    December 4, 2010

    Hahahaha! Good stuff :D

  5. Violet
    December 4, 2010

    Wow.. what is this supposed to be?? The artist seriously needs therapy!

    • Banno
      December 5, 2010

      this is meant to be king kong. seriously. they also had batman. a dinosaur supposedly from jurassic park. a forest and some people with bows and arrows supposedly from the ramayan. the twins from the gemini studio banner. what not.

  6. memsaab
    December 5, 2010

    Do you have photos of all the other “decoration”? I WANT TO SEE!!!! Argggh. I hear you met Raju :) who tells me that I should attend IFFI one of these days. I am now in complete agreement!

    • Banno
      December 7, 2010

      I know, Memsaab. I’d love to be at Goa IFFI with you. Very chilled out, lots of good food and wine. Lots of parties. (Not that I go to any of them, I’m too busy watching films).

      Yes, I did leap over my shyness and extend my smile to Raju and introduce myself as your friend, etc, etc. I meant to email you about it, and then got caught up as usual with being my lazy self.

  7. Ankit
    December 6, 2010

    This King Kong is definitely not going to beat his chest….

    • Banno
      December 7, 2010

      Ankit, :)

  8. Kuntal
    December 6, 2010

    It’s just an indignant Mrs. Kong. A bit pissed off at her mate for swooning over little-finger sized human babes. They are about to make up though, and King Kong will see the error of his ways at which point there will be a song sequence in which New York will be obliterated as the ecstatic apes romp in gay abandon.

    • Banno
      December 7, 2010

      Kuntal, fab. I can see a film there, better than ‘Break ke baad’ and stuff like that. Definitely more angst there. :)

  9. dipali
    December 6, 2010

    Loved Kuntal’s comment. Honestly, this creation leaves me utterly bemused:(

    • Banno
      December 7, 2010

      I know, Dipali. Feel the same. Why, why, why?

  10. Pingback: bigger than BBKK « banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2010 by in fotoos, of shoots and showbiz and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 274 other followers

