banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

i should never have let her do XII Science

I said to Dhanno: “If I could get anything back, I’d ask for the energy I used to have.”

Dhanno said: “That’s easy.”

I said: “I could dance all night, and wake up at 7 next morning and get back to work. I never felt tired.”

Dhanno said: “Like me.”

I said: “It’s the city, I think.”

Dhanno said: “It’s nothing to do with the city. It’s either your mind or your body.”

I frowned.

Dhanno said: “If it’s your mind, you just have to be happy.”

I said: “I am happy.”

Dhanno said: “Happy in the here and now. Right now. Just the way things are. If it’s your body, then there should be a simple solution. With a doctor. Maybe even just a spoon of glucose. It’s not a big deal.”

I said: “You are becoming like me. And maybe I am becoming like Naani.”

She said: “Mom, everything is not a story, a drama, emotion, tragedy, a film. Sometimes things can be just pure science. Biology.”

I puckered my face in an effort to look convinced.

She continued: “You don’t always have to write your life, you know. Even if you stop for a while, it will continue writing itself. Even after you die. So..What do you want to do right now?”

I said: “Go to yoga class.”

She said: “Go then. And don’t think of a story in the rickshaw. Just think of how the rickshaw works. You should be fine.”

13 comments on “i should never have let her do XII Science

  1. Raj
    January 18, 2011

    u know dhanno could have a point there, sometimes, it is in fact all in our minds. BTW any thoughts on the rickshaw :) ???

    • Banno
      January 18, 2011

      I wish I had studied Science. But since I didn’t, no thoughts, except that could it make less noise? :)

  2. surabhi
    January 18, 2011

    but if you had really thought about the rikshaw and how it worked you would have yet another story.

    though i do love her problem solving quick fix mode – most sensible.

    • Banno
      January 18, 2011

      Wonder where she gets the common sense from? :)

  3. dipali
    January 18, 2011

    What a logical, scientific mind!
    Kids are meant to be ruthless, methinks, unless it’s them and their stories:)

    • Banno
      January 19, 2011

      Dipali, They seem to reserve their ruthlessness for their mothers, no? :)

  4. Aquatic Static
    January 20, 2011

    Hahaha! Nice foil to overactive imaginations, your Dhanno is…Just like we couldn’t bullshit our parents (beyond a certain point), I guess one can’t bullshit the kids…and therefore ourselves (beyond a point). Super read.

    • Banno
      January 20, 2011

      Aquatic Static, what do I say? I try hard to bullshit. I mean, that’s my job. :) But it doesn’t work with her, unless she’s in the mood to listen.

  5. satish
    January 20, 2011

    Brilliant. Don’t think it has to anything with studying science, though (i did science too, all those eons ago, and never had such pithy insights on life :) !). You have a special daughter.

    • Banno
      January 20, 2011

      Thanks, Satish. Just don’t tell her that, or I’ll be bullied even more. :)

  6. the mad momma
    February 1, 2011

    such a wise child she is.
    this post freaked me out. i think i’ll give my daughter up for adoption.

    • Banno
      February 1, 2011

      The mad momma, Or do you have any spells to dumb her down a little? :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2011 by in Banno, Dhanno, roads taken and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

