banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

bhala manus (1976) – made in usa ka label on desi maal

There is much to love in this song.

1. Neetu Singh‘s giving grief to her soon to-be real life ‘jeth’ Randhir Kapoor. Including making him do dand-baithak, pinching his cheeks and his tummy, threatening him with a danda and making him dance.

2. Her pink-blue-yellow petticoat slit skirt under her pink sari. Four thigh-length slits, no less.
3. The serious pink of the pink. Blue of the blue. Yellow of the yellow.
4. The transfer of the sari from Neetu Singh to Randhir Kapoor.
5. Some butt-shaking moves by Neetu Singh on top of the dressing table.
6. The song itself, “Made in USA ka label lagaa hain desi maal pe”, Asha Bhonsle and R D Burman

There isn’t much else in this lacklustre film ‘Bhala Manus‘ (1979) directed by Vishwamitra.

Most of the film revolves around Anand (Randhir Kapoor), a poor, simple man being set up as a rich groom for foreign returned Meena (Neetu Singh) by a couple of con-men, Vikram (Om Shivpuri) and Mahendra Nath (Kamal Kapoor).

Randhir Kapoor does do simple and trusting very well, without being a fool.

And Neetu is a sweet Meena, rich but not shrill or spoilt, and very peace-loving, but again not a fool. She also has no silly notions of “I will trust my husband blindly, even when I see him cheating me.” But her checked shirts, knee length jeans and knee length boots are a bit difficult to fathom.

Disappointingly, Jeevan plays Meena’s father with his fangs taken out, a benign man. I kept waiting for him to show his true colours, but alas, there were none.

Asrani and Aruna Irani play Chandu and Chanda. I mean, really, what are the chances of going out and finding a life partner with a matching name?

Sorry for the quality of the video, T-series VCD. I also had to break up the sequence in 2, because of some upload issues. :(

10 comments on “bhala manus (1976) – made in usa ka label on desi maal

  1. theaprilfool
    January 20, 2011

    Not sure about Chandu and Chanda.. but there were Shreya and Shreyas in my class who eventually got married to each other :)

    • Banno
      January 20, 2011

      Nice!

  2. dustedoff
    January 20, 2011

    Like theaprilfool, I know a couple with matching names too… a Swapna and a Swapan. :-)

    I haven’t seen (or even heard of) Bhala Manus, but Neetu Singh – always a favourite of mine – is so vivacious and spunky in this song. Love the way she makes him do dand-baithak!

    • Banno
      January 20, 2011

      Dustedoff, I didn’t remember this film at all, until I saw the songs. Then I was sure I had seen the film as a kid.

      I’d see anything with Neetu Singh in it, but the more I see this song, I love it.

  3. Shilpi Bose
    January 20, 2011

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I have been following your comments on Greta’s and Madhulika’s blog. Hope to find you again on my blog.I find that you have a great deal of stuff on your blog, will need to set aside some time to go through it.

    • Banno
      January 20, 2011

      Thanks, Shilpi. I found your recipes really nice. Besides, I like the way you write them up.

  4. karrvakarela
    January 21, 2011

    My parents’ petnames when they were kids were Chanda and Tarey.

    • Banno
      January 21, 2011

      Karrvakarela, :)

  5. bollyviewer
    February 10, 2011

    I mean, really, what are the chances of going out and finding a life partner with a matching name?” You are actually questioning masala-logic?! Isn’t there a law about mandatory suspension of disbelief? ;)

    • Banno
      February 10, 2011

      Bollyviewer, well, so many people have told me of their real-life matching names couples, by now, that I am willing to believe in Chandu and Chanda. But doesn’t Chandu and Chanda just sound too, too much like a kids’ story?

      No, no, no questioning masala-logic. Just wonder and awe. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2011 by in the movies and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

