banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

on acquiring a shooting permit for cst

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A week.

The cobwebs on the wall are not dusted away, but new ones grow on me.

Electricity lines have changed their course, leaving their tracks behind, holes left by ripped out nails.

The traces of a discarded clock mark the new one.

The plywood partitions look greasy.

There are calendars on the left, on the right, in the front. But time is not important here. Perhaps the holidays marked in red are.

The tube lights bleach out all hope.

I sit helplessly for hours. I watch the fans high, high above, and try to hold on to the notion of movement.

Sahib or madam are never in. Or have just gone out. Always, I feel guilt. Should I have come even earlier than I did, should I have stayed those 5 extra minutes? Maybe I would have seen sahib or madam then.

I contemplate dishonesty.

I realize that these are the seats of power. Their function is to clog your blood line. To stop the flow of industry, enterprise, ambition.

I watch as every single person around me, the peons, the clerks, the officers, start at the mention of any work. The first instinctive involuntary reaction to any mention of any new task is a negative. This can’t be my job, I am too busy already, if you force me to do this, then I will do it in my own time, certainly not now, not when you need, not when you ask.

I had forgotten this. I had disregarded it. I had thought that surely someone, somewhere cares. Not about me. But just about their job. Only that would be enough.

But no, they don’t. Not for the files on their table. Or the cobwebs on their walls.

On day 3, a peon reluctantly hands me a glass of water. The empty glass is still lying there when I go back in the afternoon.

The 200 grams file seems heavier than a mountain – the effort it takes to push it from table to table, from down the ranks to up to down again to up.

Perhaps one day it may come to me, the task completed.

I finally realize what atrophy means.

13 comments on “on acquiring a shooting permit for cst

  1. Aquatic Static
    February 5, 2011

    Death by apathy…wonderfully frustrating this post is…can feel the helplessness in every word.

    • Banno
      February 9, 2011

      Aquatic Static, yes, really helpless and frustrating, dealing with any form of bureaucracy. It gives me the jitters, and I hate it when I’m forced into situations like these. But who doesn’t?

  2. dustedoff
    February 5, 2011

    So real, so familiar to all of us who’ve had to deal with the Indian bureaucracy. It teaches you lessons one would rather not have learnt…

    • Banno
      February 9, 2011

      So true, dustedoff, I am past thinking that this kind of suffering strengthens one’s moral fibre. :)

  3. dipali
    February 6, 2011

    How utterly frustrating :(
    Hope somehow, something gets things moving.
    The saddest part is that this happens wherever the bureaucracy is involved:(

    • Banno
      February 9, 2011

      Dipali, yes, they did get moving. They gave me the permission at 7 pm, the evening before the shoot. It was so stressful, not knowing. And the lack of communication, is unbelievable. This, from the PR department, and this, after paying an incredible amount of 160,000 for one day of shoot.

  4. memsaab
    February 7, 2011

    At least indifference and incompetence (and indolence) provided you with an excuse for a beautiful piece of writing :)

    • Banno
      February 9, 2011

      Thank you, Memsaab. Your comment helped me through the next 2-3 days of stress, before I actually got the permit. :)

  5. Lekhni
    February 9, 2011

    Eloquently described. The first several lines are actually more poem than prose.

    Btw, I wonder if everyone who wants to shoot in CST gets the same treatment from the babus? I cannot imagine that the makers of Slumdog Millionaire too waited for days.

    • Banno
      February 9, 2011

      Lekhni,

      I can’t say for sure, whether the feature film get the same treatment. I think the production people there are quite used to paying bribes, but I wouldn’t like to claim it as a fact.

      They can also afford to pay the bank guarantees required, which amount to 500,000 per day, and which are returned to you after maybe a year.

      Whereas with a documentary, each time you have to negotiate a bank guarantee waiver, which they are able to give, but won’t give khulle dil se. Will make you ragdo your nose each time. :(

  6. Pingback: that i did get in there « banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

  7. bollyviewer
    February 10, 2011

    This makes a powerful case for trying out the Ismail Merchant method of acquiring a permit. For The Householder, he apparently shot in the Qutab Minar complex without permit – just told the cast and crew that the permit is on the way and they need to start shooting!

    • Banno
      February 10, 2011

      Those were the days, Bollyviewer. We could get away with that, upto maybe 3-4 years ago, specially for documentaries. But now, there’s tons of security everywhere.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2011 by in real world and tagged , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

