banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

just to let you know i am still around

When Dhanno says, “I’m going down for a movie”, meaning to the theatre across our apartment complex,

When Teja sends me a SMS,

I try hard not to think about home,

Or I will be very, very home-sick.

When the man in a red T-shirt kindly delivers a week’s bundle of DVDs to the middle of nowhere,

he makes me feel a little bit more at home.

He’s wearing the company uniform, and it feels he has come all the way from Bumm-Bumm-Bhole-Land to keep my account going.

It’s not just that we are far away from home for a long period of time.

It’s also that we are far away from everything, from the city.

Living on the highway to nowhere, that’s what it seems like.

However, there are some amazing stories at the hospital where we are meant to film. I have to train myself not to let my face swell up with tears.

The people working there are kind and practical. They do not cry, but help.

11 comments on “just to let you know i am still around

  1. memsaab
    July 9, 2011

    Awwww…I am sure they are missing you too :)

    • Banno
      July 10, 2011

      I certainly hope so. :)

  2. Violet
    July 10, 2011

    Banno, I know it is tough but I am sure you’ll pull it off well. How long is it expected to take?

    • Banno
      July 10, 2011

      Violet, I’m on a job until November. So quite long.

  3. surabhi
    July 10, 2011

    take care. and let me know if i need to drop by for anything when dhanno or teja need an extra hand. or then if they dont need it but you want someone to just check :) (hope dhanno and teja are not reading this)

    • Banno
      July 11, 2011

      Thanks, Sur. But they are both super-competent. It’s only me who thinks they need me. :) And they like to pamper the illusion. Of course, you can drop in anyway, just like that.

  4. dipali
    July 10, 2011

    I’m feeling your homesickness :(
    Take care. You’ll do an awesome job, I know.
    Some hugs, just like that.

    • Banno
      July 11, 2011

      Thanks, Dipali. Some hugs to you too, just like that. I’m still on to Mrs. Rupa Mehra, you know. :)

  5. Grasshopper
    July 11, 2011

    Hey, take care, sister. Will drop by this weekend, on the way to tiru or back. love, manju

    • Banno
      July 11, 2011

      Looking forward to seeing you, Grasshopper.

  6. harvey
    July 11, 2011

    homesickness is such a ‘mithi si chubhan’, though not when one has it.
    Hugs from this side of the world. you will do a great job and envbying you for the people who “do not cry, but help”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2011 by in Banno, of shoots and showbiz and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

