banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

shareef badmaash (1973) – icecream sizzler

Carmen and Seema dance at the Happy Hearts Club. (I think!)

Carmen does a mean strip tease and comes down to a bikini dress. Her pelvic thrusts, her beautiful face, her bare limbs, are all inviting.

Seema removes a scarf from somewhere around her waist, and one from the side of her dress. A glimpse of her thigh is all you get. She sways gently, her limbs graceful and alluring, but demure.

Rocky who was chasing Seema all over town for the last few days, now finds Carmen more attractive, not without reason. Carmen swings up to him, and slips him her room number.

Seema realizes that she is perhaps jealous, but she cannot lure Rocky’s attention back from Carmen to herself.

Later, in Carmen’s room, Rocky pours her a drink. She gulps it down and asks for another. He says, “You drink too much for one so young.” She says, “What to do? Nothing makes me high.” Then, she leers at him, “I’m still looking for that ultimate intoxication.” He says, “In good time. But before that, can you do something for me?”

Carmen waits for Seema in the room. Seema comes in, angry. Carmen offers her a drink. She says, “OK, just give me a little.” Soon they are bickering about Rocky’s attentions to Carmen.

Carmen taunts her, “How can anyone ever like you? You don’t do anything completely. You drink, but a little. You dance, but a little. You show your body, but a little.” Seema says, “No, I am not like that. I can do anything.” She takes the whisky bottle and downs it.

She starts giggling, and lurching, she falls down next to Carmen on the bed. She breathes in Carmen’s face, “Now, will someone like me?” Carmen strokes her cheek with one finger, “You are beautiful.” She comes closer to Carmen and says, “No, you are beautiful.”

They fall back on the bed, close to each other. Seema says, “Do you think Rocky will think I am beautiful now?” Carmen says, “Why don’t you go to him?”

Seema stands up and goes to the door. But then she gets scared and stops. “No, I can’t do that.” She tries to balance herself, “I’m very drunk. Will you take me to my room?”

Carmen sneers at her, and gets up to help her.

I’ve forgotten most of the film in the last 2 weeks, most of which constituted a chasing of what looked like a 12-year old boy’s drawing of a plane. But the cabaret dance at the night club, and the sexuality between Helen and Hema Malini in the scene that follows, is something that I am not likely to forget soon. I wish I had had the time to get some screen caps from the DVD. :(

Raj Khosla’s films are not always polished pieces of work, but there is something edgy about his female characters. Seema (Hema Malini) in ‘Shareef Badmaash’ (1973) is a girl who has been brought up by a criminal mother to do anything for money. She’s been to prison twice. She thinks nothing of stringing along several men to get what she wants. The good thing is that when Rocky (Dev Anand) brings about a change of heart in her, it is not through the usual argument of what it means to be a ‘good woman’ but the larger concept of duty to nation.

She does become a little boring after that, though.

17 comments on “shareef badmaash (1973) – icecream sizzler

  1. dustedoff
    July 24, 2011

    I have not seen Shareef Badmaash but that description of that scene had me hooked. I sort of blinked and went back to reading… then did another double-take. Very interesting. And I’m adding this to my wishlist.

    • Banno
      July 24, 2011

      Dustedoff, it’s worth seeing just for this one scene. :) Hema Malini and Helen are like an ice-cream sizzler!

  2. Eveslungs
    July 27, 2011

    I expected something else – you had me hooked and then came the anticlimax..

    • Banno
      July 28, 2011

      Oops, sorry to disappoint you, Eveslungs. :)

  3. Natasha Badhwar
    July 28, 2011

    I have missed your straightforward and tantalizing film reviews. This one was awesome. :)

    • Banno
      July 28, 2011

      Thanks, Natasha. :) Lovely picture, by the way. Nice and pink!

  4. memsaab
    July 28, 2011

    I have about five copies of this film :) I always see it and think “Oh I must see that one!” and then when I get it, realize that I already have it and in fact have seen it several times.

    • Banno
      July 28, 2011

      Yeah, it’s just that kind of film. Entirely forgettable. Except for this one scene. :)

  5. harveypam
    July 29, 2011

    Although we might wink at each other knowingly now.
    Helen and Hema Malini will surely say that they were totally unaware of what it was really meant to be, like Audrey Hepburn and Shirley Maclaine admitted about The Children’s Hour (1961).

    • Banno
      July 30, 2011

      Oh you never know. They may naughtily admit they knew what they were doing. :)
      I wouldn’t like to think they weren’t having a bit of fun.

      • harveypam
        August 1, 2011

        I would love to hear Hema say that!!!! :-)

        • Banno
          August 1, 2011

          I have a lot of faith in her. :)

  6. Andy
    August 3, 2011

    Raj Khosla’s films are thrillers that have you sitting at the edge of your seat. Your movie review was awesome, you caught my attention right from the beginning.

    • Banno
      August 3, 2011

      Thanks, Andy. :)

  7. Pingback: Strip Advisor » Strip Tease Songs for You

  8. desi-at-large
    September 17, 2011

    We watched this film so long ago that when I read this `sizzler,’ I was sure it was an excerpt from some book or something new you were writing. You have a wonderful ability to capture nuances in words (the scene is clearly pretty badmaash) and I bet all the parties concerned knew what was going on. Yema is very clever and the Amma facade is just that.

  9. Pingback: shareef badmaash (1973) – a film that inspires 2 posts | banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2011 by in the movies and tagged , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

