banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

it isn’t much, but …

While it’s obvious now to me and everyone else that I am not gung-ho about my stay in Bangalore,

For some reason I enjoy my trip from Bengalaru airport to the hotel more than I do the trip to the airport on my way to Mumbai.

Maybe it’s the shuttle bus, where I always find the first seat on the upper deck. It has large windows, and people, and it takes a nicer route than the car from the hotel to the airport.

Maybe it is the large Hanuman a little before we turn on the Hosur highway, who seems as if he could take care of a lot of things.

There is the path into the garden at the hotel which seems as if it were made for my silences.

There is the reflection of a black and white Waheeda Rehman on my window which always remains shut to keep out the noise of the trucks on the highway.

There is the noise of the trucks on the highway which is not very different from home, and makes me feel less alone at night.

There are the fairy lights every other weekend or so. And the workers making a wedding ready to happen.

There is the arrival of a new book.

There are Mukhtar’s animals in my room.

And there it is. The moment of redemption around the corner. The cheesecake in Electronics City which ends Nam’s quest for a good cheesecake in Bengalaru city.

She has looked everywhere, and it was only a few kilometers away. There is the beaming grin on her face.

There is also the comfort of knowing Dhanno will be with me for my last 2 weeks here.

26 comments on “it isn’t much, but …

  1. memsaab
    October 16, 2011

    Oh that dog is my favorite one yet :) How nice that Dhanno is coming! I wish I could too!

    • Banno
      October 16, 2011

      Memsaab, isn’t he cute? And such character!

  2. Violet
    October 16, 2011

    Oh Banno, you’ve bought back Bangalore to me! BTW, where are you put up? I lived in Indiranagar.. loved the place despite the rent. And I know a lot of restaurants in Bangalore, ask me for a review anytime you need :) Nice to know that Dhanno is coming. Wonder when I would get to see my Dhanno.. Just struck me, my youngest aunt, she called me Dhanno-Pudino out of affection, now both the affection and the name has got transferred to Pari!

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      Violet, I am staying at Attibele, back of beyond. I can only read reviews of restaurants, very rarely venture out to taste the food. More than the rents, transport here is unbelievably expensive and unavailable.

      I love the name Dhanno-Pudino. :)

      I hope you get to see your Dhanno-Pudino soon.

  3. earlybird
    October 17, 2011

    Love that dog… mind you the cheesecake’s got a pretty cute look about it too! :)

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      Earlybird, yes, the dog is very nice. As for the cheesecake, since Nam and I have neither eaten a cheesecake in the US or Europe, we can only assume that this was a good one. :)

  4. kateshrewsday
    October 17, 2011

    I loved coming with you on your journey, Banno. It’s the little things….enjoy the fortnight with Dhanno…

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      Thank you, Kate.

  5. Grasshopper
    October 17, 2011

    last two weeks only? hey, come home for diwali. both of you. its Pavans birthday on Diwali, 26th oct.

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      OHKAY! We will. Definitely.

  6. dustedoff
    October 17, 2011

    I am a sucker for cheesecake, and that one looks very good… :-)

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      It tasted good too, Dustedoff. :)

  7. dipali
    October 17, 2011

    I love the dog. And the cheesecake looks droolworthy.
    And Dhanno will be with you. Yayyyyyy!

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      I know, Dipali. Yayyy! Indeed.

  8. desi-at-large
    October 17, 2011

    Cheesecake – don’t remember when I last ate one. I’m sure this slice was comparable to the finest in Europe or the US – loved the artistic flourishes on the plate too.
    As for Mukhtar, what can I say? Humble salaam to his fantastic artistry.
    Bangalore – when did I Iast visit? The last century – but lovely and `dear’ place – few hours away from my birthplace, Mysore. Always loved how Kaveri waters taste – reminded me of Mumbai ka paani.
    Glad that Dhanno can be with you for a while – really, you’ve been away so long.
    Say, does the Mavalli Canteen (not sure about the name) still exist? Another wonderful columnist from those bygone days raved about the food served there.

    • Banno
      October 17, 2011

      Well, I am new to cheesecake, Desi-at-large. But this one was nice.

      Mukhtar’s creatures have such expressions. He is an artist.

      Bangalore is lovely, but over-ridden by traffic. I have visited it several times earlier, and each time it gets more and more crowded. Mysore, I have been to, twice, both on half-day visits, but it looks really, really nice. Such lovely buildings.

      Yes, the water is a lot like Mumbai ka paani.

      I think the Mavalli Canteen, or whatever it is called, I think Mavalli Tiffin Room (MTR) does exist. Because someone else was telling me about it. But it’s far from where we are, so I haven’t been there yet. Hopefully, will make it there, before we leave.

  9. Shankari
    October 17, 2011

    Just 2 weeks left? We HAVE to meet. Please tell me when and where and I shall apparate. No, seriously.

    • Banno
      October 18, 2011

      Shankari, I live at Ramee Guestline in Attibele. It’s the back of beyond. Specially given the transport situation in Bangalore. Let me know where you are, and your time frames, and let’s catch up.

  10. Shweta
    October 18, 2011

    Banno! I found the sahni book on pdf! here it is if you want to save a copy http://www.apnaorg.com/books/english/balraj-sahni/book.php?fldr=book I still am going to try locating a real copy tho- I am old fashioned and want to hold all my books :D

    • Banno
      October 18, 2011

      Thanks so much, Shweta. I’ll keep this, and look for the Hindi one too. Somehow, I enjoyed the Hindi version a lot. Haven’t read it in English, but will do that.

      • shweta
        October 19, 2011

        Maybe the old Hindi books shops in East Delhi will turn up something- they are usually treasure troves of great books. I will try them next time I’m there.

        • Banno
          October 22, 2011

          Oh, I have never been to these book stores. Wish you do find it.

  11. harvey
    October 19, 2011

    It seems there are lots of incentives to remain in Bangalore all the same.
    In my memories Bangalore is still the one from the 80s, where we siblings used to spend our summer at my uncle’s farm. And I also remember standing outside a certain cinema hall for 5 days to get tickets for Naseeb, a film which I knew I wouldn’t like and didn’t!
    How does Mukhtiar make those lovely hand towel animals?

    • Banno
      October 22, 2011

      I’ve been visiting Bangalore since the early 90s, and it has changed so rapidly. Definitely not the same as it must have been in the 80s.

      I am sure I would still have had a lovely time here, if it was not that we were so cut off from the city. We are almost at the Tamil Nadu border.

      As for Mukhtar’s skills, I know of course, that probably, a lot of the boys are taught how to make these animals as part of their training, but he seems to have the hands of an artist. His creatures come alive.

      • harveypam
        October 22, 2011

        I understand your situation much better after reading the previous articles. And Teja and Dhanno’s absence doesn’t help much, does it?

  12. Pingback: this elephant is saying sorry | banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2011 by in fotoos, of windows and worlds and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

