banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

Anatevka is where the heart is

One would think that my predilection to make even a hotel room feel like home comes from a strong sense of attachment to things. In fact, it comes from a sense of detachment. Keeping a few shuffles out of the reckoning, this here is the 19th house I have lived in. My father did not have a transferable job. He was what you could call a small, an almost petty businessman. Each shift of residence was preceded by a shift in his fortunes, a few steps forward, a few steps back, and round 2, 3 and 4 the same. I followed the pattern in my first marriage, the rocky state of the marriage and our finances made sure of that.

For 3 years while I was an adolescent, we shifted rooms almost every month between one community guest house (musafar-khana) and another. (I have counted these as only 2 residences, instead of the several they were, from one room to another, including time in the community hall.) For 2 years before that, we had shared a 200 sq feet house with my grandmother, the 6 of us under one tiny roof. For a long time, a house or a lack of house defined a significant part of my personality. It was this that had drawn me to visit and re-visit Bhuj after the earthquake, the story of people losing houses in which their families had lived for generations, sometimes as long as 200 years.

When my first marriage collapsed, it was for the first time, that I questioned the validity of a home. What did they mean, those things, painstakingly accumulated, those walls, that roof, when there was no love?

In ‘Fiddler on the Roof’ (1971), Tevye and the villagers faced with the inevitability of leaving the village Anatevka where they have lived forever, as far as they can remember, sing, “A little bit of this, a little bit of that. A pot. A pan. A broom. A hat. Someone should have set a match to this place years ago. A bench, a tree. So, what’s a stove? Or a house? People who pass through Anatevka don’t even know they’ve been here. A stick of wood. A piece of cloth. What do we leave? Nothing much. Only Anatevka.”

Gita, in my film ’150 Seconds Ago‘ said to me once, when she had finally found some modicum of peace in a tin shack, allotted by the government, which was better than the tent in the park where she had been living for the past year with her rickshaw-wala husband Jagdish and their daughter Sangeeta, that she had met a neighbor from the old mohallah, on the road recently. Though the new settlement was only a few kilometers away from the old city, everyone had been scattered into different worlds. I wondered what it meant to meet someone on the road, someone you had seen until then, every day of your life, next door?

When Tevye and the villagers leave Anatevka, they all seem to have somewhere to go, even if it is to an unlikeable relative, but what they do leave behind is “Anatevka, Anatevka. Intimate, obstinate Anatevka. Where I know everyone I meet. Soon I’ll be a stranger in a strange new place. Searching for an old familiar face. From Anatevka.”

‘Fiddler on the Roof’ escapes being maudlin because despite all the hardships the villagers and Tevye’s family in particular face, a sense of humor pervades the film. The characters are poor, most of them, and each turn of life seems to bring something worse for them, yet, they have their faith and their belief in ‘tradition’ to see them through. The twist of course is, that Tevye who keeps on harping about tradition has to accept change as each one of his 3 older daughters marries the man of her choice, contrary to Tevye’s beliefs.

The fiddler on the roof, according to Tevye is just like all of them, trying to play out a tune, while maintaining his balance on a precarious perch. And as the fiddler follows Tevye as his family leaves the village, it is clear that life will go on in the same way, trying to keep happy in the face of a God who singles out Tevye for hardship, as he does everyone else. Even Lazar Wolf, the butcher, who was a wealthy man, his house a sharp contrast to Tevye’s, leaves with 2 suitcases and alone. Tevye and his family may not have many possessions, but they do have each other and a great deal of love.

By the way, another song in the film, which we all loved, particularly Dhanno, was “Do you love me?” an exchange between Tevye and Golde, his wife, after 25 years of marriage, brought on by their second daughter’s engagement to a poor but radical teacher. The realization of love, in a marriage that had never been questioned, concludes movingly as Golde sings – “Do I love him? For twenty-five years I’ve lived with him. Fought him, starved with him. Twenty-five years my bed is his. If that’s not love, what is?” Tevye persists – “Then you love me.” Golde shrugs – “I suppose I do.” Tevye admits – “And I suppose I love you too.” Tevye and Golde sit side by side, and exchange a split second smile – “It doesn’t change a thing. But even so. After twenty-five years. It’s nice to know.”

The film is long at 3 hours, but in fact, the slow pace of the film as it seems to follow each event in the village and Tevye’s life, in loving detail, makes you feel that you yourself have settled down in Anatevka, and which makes the parting with the village and its people, so poignant at the end.

15 comments on “Anatevka is where the heart is

  1. dustedoff
    June 6, 2012

    One of my favourite films – and, unlike most musicals, a film that has so much more to it than just a lot of singing and dancing. Incidentally, the year I reviewed this was the same year Topol gave his last stage performance as Tevye.

    • Banno
      June 8, 2012

      Dustedoff, I usually check my favourite blogs for reviews before linking to Wikipedia :) but didn’t find anything this time. Maybe I didn’t look hard enough. Anyway, have changed the link now on my post to your review. Yes, it’s a lovely film.

      • dustedoff
        June 8, 2012

        Thank you, Banno – that’s sweet of you. It’s made me want to see this film all over again. If only I had the time. If I were a rich woman (and didn’t have to spend my time doing housework/working/etc)… :-)

  2. Space Bar
    June 7, 2012

    I loved this film so much while growing up. These days I wonder if I have the patience for this kind of film – I know my son doesn’t and it makes me sad.

    • Banno
      June 8, 2012

      Space Bar, try and see it, na? I think you may enjoy it. Or like we did, watch it over 2 days. :)

  3. kateshrewsday
    June 8, 2012

    Another film to put on my list. Your words are very timely, Banno: we’ve been married 20 years this year and we live in a shabby house. But reading your post I realise: it’s a house. It’s a place to be, and it’s filled with goodwill. Thanks for the food for thought.

    • Banno
      June 8, 2012

      Kate, all of you must definitely watch this film, specially since all of you are such good singers, at your home. I can just see how the kids would learn up all the songs, and we could get some more audio recordings on your blog. :) I’m sure your home is a great place to be. Filled with fun, laughter, warmth.

      • kateshrewsday
        June 8, 2012

        :-) Thanks Banno…I’ll try and get hold of a copy of the film to watch!

  4. harveypam
    June 10, 2012

    Wow!
    A whole new get-up!
    Wonderful! Love it!

    • Banno
      June 11, 2012

      Thanks Harvey.

  5. harveypam
    June 10, 2012

    Love Anatevka!
    And home is, don’t know where and what? Must be something as nebulous as love! :-)
    bolo to hai, bolo to nahin hai

    • Banno
      June 11, 2012

      Exactly, Harvey. You hit it, bolo to hai, … :)

  6. dipali
    June 19, 2012

    I have loved this film ever since I saw it when in college, at the Delhi charity premiere, probably in 1976 or 1977. Not only was it a long film, my friend and I were supposed to be picked up by her father, who assumed he had to pick us up from college, not from the movie theatre which was several miles away. He arrived, finally, fuming, and I thought I would get a good yelling from my own parents who would certainly have been anxious, but for Dad’s younger sister landing up from Allahabad!
    The movie, and the musical, are heartwarming and funny- I’ve always loved ‘Do you love me” and “If I were a rich man” especially. And that incredibly vigorous Slavic song and dance routine……… I do have a CD of the film- I must treat myself to it once more!
    I loved your post, Banno, as always.

    • Banno
      June 21, 2012

      Dipali, fathers! Teja does the same fuming, and yelling, when Dhanno goofs up time, or venue, sometimes for no fault of her own. I could just imagine the scene with your friend and you, and her father. :)

      Do, do watch the film again. it’s lovely.

  7. dipali
    June 25, 2012

    Yes, I have the CD, shall watch it again at leisure – whenever that happens :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2012 by in Banno, real world, the movies and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

