banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

just another day

Teja bought me an orange reading lamp, a big one, to suit my aging eyes. I loved the effort he went through to have it delivered home without me catching on, since his pet grouse is that nothing he does, escapes me. Particularly since his credit card is an add-on to mine, and I get a sms every time he swipes it.

Dhanno got me a rich chocolate cake, ignoring all my diet plans. She made me blow out a candle and cut the cake, while Shy and she sung ‘Happy Birthday’ much to my embarrassment.

I ordered myself  Rabindranath Tagore’s ‘Three Women’ from Flipkart, and Amarjeet’s ‘Teen Deviyan’.

Random House India sent me Mohammed Hanif’s ‘A Case of Exploding Mangoes’ and Samaresh Basu’s ‘Mahakaler Rather Ghoda’.

Pu gave me Devdutt Patnaik’s ‘Jaya – An Illustrated Retelling of the Mahabharata’.

Pu, Shy, Dhanno and I went to see ‘Ferrari ki Sawari’. We laughed during a lot of scenes that were funny but also during the dramatic scenes watching  Dhanno as she cried and gasped and clutched her hair, unable to take the tension of bad things happening to good people. Later, we ate sandwiches and pastries at Cafe Moshe’s. We made plans for more girlie parties, and European trips alone.

Later, Teja served Dhanno and me cold, diced mango in bowls, while we watched several episodes of ‘Gossip Girl’, and exclaimed incredulously at the shenanigans of Chuck/Blair/Nate/Serena/Jenny, et al, which we ought to have been used to by now.

Several people who care about me and remember my birthday, called me, messaged me, mailed me. I care about all these people, but never remember their birthdays myself. I made a pact with my nephew Golu, that from now on, he would call me on his birthday, and remind me to wish him. The same goes for all you beloved ones out there.

It was the happiest birthday I’ve had in many years. Maybe because for the first time, I was not expecting any fireworks up in the sky, or people (read Teja) turning somersaults for my benefit.

And oh yes, we saw the posters and promo of ‘Supermen of Malegaon’ at the theatre. It’s a funny, fun, inspiring film. I reviewed it for Upperstall a while ago. Do go watch it.

38 comments on “just another day

  1. Violet
    June 28, 2012

    Wish you a belated Happy Birthday Banno. I can never understand ‘belated’ though – but just because it is the oft used term. Looks like you had a lot of fun :) I might also start enjoying my special days better if I too stop expecting ‘fireworks up in the sky’.. seriously they never happen, and that leaves me sulking and grumpy.

    • Banno
      June 28, 2012

      Yes, Violet, the only way to enjoy a special day is to treat it like just any other day. :)
      And where have you been?

      • Violet
        July 3, 2012

        I have moved to your philmy nagri– Mumbai, not sure if I mentioned that to you. However, it has been so much of work and effort trying to just get things going that I barely get to think about the place. And I guess you’ve been living out of the suitcase –where are you currently?

        • Banno
          July 5, 2012

          Violet, welcome! I am in Bumm-Bumm-Bhole-Land these days. :) Since I am editing the film right now, I am fairly home-bound. Do let’s catch up some day, once you have settled in.

          • Violet
            July 6, 2012

            Wow.. nice to know that you are here. Let us surely catch up. I live/work in Andheri, where are you put up? This city is just too huge for me to comprehend..

            • Banno
              July 7, 2012

              I live in Kandivali.

              • v
                July 10, 2012

                Excellent.. I guess it is not far from our place. BTW, today is my ‘just another day’.. and with my mom around, I don’t need/care for fireworks in the sky :) Feeling OTT for no reason! Wanna join in?

                • Banno
                  July 11, 2012

                  Oh, a belated Happy Birthday, V. Sorry, I didn’t see your comment yesterday. I hope you had a lovely, lovely day. You must have, with your mom around. And thank you so much, for wanting to include me in your celebrations. :) Sorry to have missed it.

  2. Space Bar
    June 28, 2012

    Happy birthday! I used to remember, I think but then I forgot. It sounds like a brilliant, lovely birthday. Hugs all around to the three of you. :)

    • Banno
      June 28, 2012

      Thank you, it was a lovely day. And hugs to you and S, too.

  3. Purnima Rao
    June 28, 2012

    Very, very, very happy birthday Banno! Here’s to many more decades of your writing (and many more little thrills I get everytime I get an ‘new post’ alert from your blog) and much success for your upcoming film. :)

    • Banno
      June 28, 2012

      Thank you, Purnima. Here’s to ‘more’.

  4. Suja
    June 28, 2012

    What a nice way to spend a birthday! It sounds like an excellent way to spend a happy day. :) As the birthday has already passed, let me wish you a happy year leading to your next birthday.

    • Banno
      June 29, 2012

      Thank you, Suja. :)

  5. harveypam
    June 29, 2012

    Belated happy birthday!
    I envy you for having still not read The Case of Exploding Mangoes. You will love it!
    Enjoy!

    • Banno
      June 29, 2012

      You could read it again, Harvey? :)

      • harveypam
        July 2, 2012

        It is just not the same, when you know what is going to happen next. But Hanif’s humour is worth reading again and again.
        Looking forward to reading his new book.

        • Banno
          July 2, 2012

          Harvey, I am lucky like that. With my awful memory, I can re-read books again and again with the same pleasure. As with re-watching films. :)

  6. harveypam
    June 29, 2012

    Loved reading your review of Supermen of Malegaon.
    It sounds to be such an endearing film!

    • Banno
      June 29, 2012

      Harvey, it is. You must try and get a copy somewhere, and watch it.

  7. Anu Warrier
    June 29, 2012

    Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday, dear Banno, Happy Birthday to you! I get ridiculously happy over my friends’ birthdays, and do not celebrate mine. Ever. :) But I definitely tinged green with envy at the description of your day. Glad you had a blast!

    • Banno
      June 29, 2012

      Thank you, Anu. I can almost hear you singing, :) And am embarrassed again.

  8. Unmana (@Unmana)
    June 29, 2012

    Belated wishes! You seem to have had a lovely day.

    • Banno
      June 29, 2012

      Thank you, Unmana.

  9. kateshrewsday
    July 1, 2012

    So pleased you had a great birthday: it’s been a bust time. Happy birthday. I am so glad you were surrounded by the people who love you most.

    • Banno
      July 2, 2012

      Kate, Thank you.

  10. Anjalika
    July 1, 2012

    sounds like a lovely birthday! Happy birthday from an old blogger friend…who is dusting off the keyboard after a long time as my son, who is nearly three will finally let me sit in peace for a few minutes without breaking or swallowing anything hazardous or torturing anyone..

    • Banno
      July 2, 2012

      Thank you, Anjalika. I’m sure the peace is welcome. :)

  11. BongMom
    July 2, 2012

    Belated Happy Birthday Banno, it all sounded like so much fun and a lot of it packed in one day.

    • Banno
      July 3, 2012

      Thank you, BongMom. It was a fun-packed day. :)

  12. dipali
    July 5, 2012

    Sounds like a wonderful birthday, Banno! Hope you have a good year to follow. God bless.

    • Banno
      July 5, 2012

      Thank you, Dipali.

  13. Anil
    July 7, 2012

    ‘Fireworks’ in the soul occasioned by folks who care, and care to remember is good enough, even better to better those in the sky. Belated wishes to you.

    • Banno
      July 9, 2012

      Thank you so much, Anil, and so well said – fireworks in the soul!

  14. sukanya
    July 18, 2012

    Happy birthday-sounds like you had a fun day.

    • Banno
      July 19, 2012

      Thank you, Sukanya.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

