banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

on books, cramps and the rest of it

I confess I have been struggling with Vinod Kumar Shukla‘s ‘Hari Ghaas ki Chhappar Wali Jhopadi Aur Bouna Pahad‘ for the last few days. Well, it’s not even been that much of a struggle, but just a kind of resigned plodding through it, as if it is a book I must get through. Because of course, there are some writers who must be read.

I do get the beauty of Shukla’s word play, the rhythm of his language, but I was just not able to engage with Bolu and his gang of friends, the village, Bolu’s flying. It is a beautiful world, but sometimes you are too impatient, worldly, agitated to be somewhere magical.

I confess that I couldn’t get through Shukla’s ‘Deewar Mein Ek Khidki Rehti Thi‘ either. Perhaps he is just a writer I will come back to some day, when I am older, or younger, perhaps.

Last night, agonized enough by cramps and the rest of it, I abandoned ‘Hari Ghaas …’ and brought down ‘Great Expectations’ from a high, high shelf. I instantly fell in love with this DK edition of Dickens book, just what I needed, clean white paper, big font, not too many footnotes, and those, annotated in bold, and a small green box at the bottom of the page, a book easy to hold in bed.

It’s not a book I have ever liked much, but somehow I thought I wanted to check out Pip again. I felt instantly reassured by Pip’s encounter with his convict. Pip’s world, his harridan sister, his lovable blacksmith brother-in-law, and the other adults around him, in what the DK book describes as Stage 1 of his life, seemed to be just what I needed to battle the pain. Or perhaps that was just the painkiller at work.

I think the way books are printed make a huge difference to your experience of them, which is why I hate pirated books, with their dodgy cyclo-styled feel. No, not for any reason of intellectual copyrights.

This morning I also came back to a friend’s blog, a friend who I don’t really know too much, and I read and read several of her posts, and thought, yes, she is a friend. And like Ruskin Bond, she inspired me to write with her own simplicity. And just live with that much simplicity.

It’s OK to be happy, laze, read in bed all day, shop even when you have enough, watch movies, write, cook, play with kids, watch the world go by. Somehow in Bumm-Bumm-Bhole-Land one has to keep reaffirming the right to just live and breathe, without the burden of being useful and productive all the time.

And maybe, based on her recommendation, I will go back to ‘War and Peace’ which I have tried to read several times, and always, always failed. I should look for a DK edition.

Yesterday, we went to the annual Strand Bookstore sale, and once again, the titles just swam before my eyes. I decided to not even try to pretend to look at the books and nursed my backache by sitting on the steps outside while Teja browsed. This time, we did not go crazy and bought only 3 books – one on Chagall, one on the Louvre, and one on Brancusi.

I may not read the art books as much as Teja does, but every time we buy them, I get out the oil pastels and a new sketch book, and put them out, all ready to use.

* ‘Hari Ghaas ki Chhappar Wali Jhopadi Aur Bouna Pahad‘ – The Hut with the Green Grassed Roof and the Tiny Hill.

* ‘Deewar Mein Ek Khidki Rehti Thi’ – A Window Lived in the Wall

great expectations

9 comments on “on books, cramps and the rest of it

  1. Anu Warrier
    January 24, 2014

    Sorry to hear about the cramps. Grinning at the thought of you ploughing through a book determined to finish reading it. I had the same feeling when I first read War and Peace as a teenager. At the end of it all, I found I didn’t care too much about any of the characters. Perhaps I should read it again. Older, wiser (?) and all that…

    Strand Book Stall is an annual pilgrimage every year, and even with Shanbhag gone, it is immensely reassuring to be welcomed with a big grin and a list of recommendations by Sadanand and gang. Thanks for reminding me to update my wishlist to send to them before I go to India this year.

    I hope you feel better soon.

    • Banno
      January 25, 2014

      Anu, I think all of us sometimes get stuck with books or films that we feel we must get through. It’s only as I grow older that I think I can abandon the effort from time to time. :)

      I just finding buying books online easier these days. It’s my glasses, mostly.

  2. parul gahlot
    January 24, 2014

    Thank you so much for reading my blog. I loved this post and especially the bit about a book that’s easy to hold in bed. So important! It’s wonderful to find your blog and I will come back often. Again thank you so much for your kind words. It is such an honour to be mentioned in a friend’s space.

    • Banno
      January 25, 2014

      Parul, I’ve been reading since yesterday, like a book. :) I remember reading it years ago, then I lost touch.

  3. dipali
    January 24, 2014

    Poor you with the cramps :(
    There are so many books I think I tried reading when I wasn’t ready for them, including War and Peace.
    I love Brancusi- seeing his Bird in Space at the MoMA was one of the high points of my first trip to New York!!!!
    I’d love to see your sketches!

    • Banno
      January 25, 2014

      Oh Dipali, I can imagine. Seeing Brancusi’s work in New York. As for the sketches, I haven’t done anything in years. I only take a new book out, for a few days, and look at it. :)

  4. dustedoff
    January 25, 2014

    I have to admit I’ve never read War and Peace either, though it’s been on my must-read list for long enough now. In the meantime, I discover ‘new’ Wodehouses I’ve never heard of before, Bill Bryson and Alexander McCall Smith and Alex Grecian and Lindsey Davis and dozens of others write new books that I can’t wait to read… and War and Peace gets shoved onto the back burner again.

    This obsessive reading must stop, I suppose. But I don’t know how. And I don’t know how I’d manage without it.

    • Banno
      January 27, 2014

      Dustedoff, Sounds just about the same as my reading list. :) Why stop a good thing? Even if it leads to no good.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2014 by in Banno, books and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

