banno, dhanno and teja in bumm-bumm-bhole-land

sholay in 6D

Now that ‘Sholay’ in 3D is safely behind us,

and we can all forget that it ever happened,

I must tell you that I met Ramesh Sippy recently.

Well, actually, I have seen him around on several occasions, at film festivals, film bazars, and the like, but never, ever spoken to him.

This happened to be just one of those evenings that come into my life, once every two years or so, when I drink,

and most of you know what happens when I drink, I get drunk, and hugs and kisses and ‘I Love You’s’ are distributed freely and widely,

from a person not too well known for her demonstrativeness otherwise.

On this occasion however, I was not flying yet, but just circling around the runway, when I crossed Mr. Sippy,

so I refrained from hugs and kisses, much to the gratefulness of Ms. Kiran Juneja Sippy, I am sure,

and said, ‘Excuse me, Sir, but I am a great fan of yours. I know you must have heard this a 1000 times, but I still want to say it.’

He smiled graciously and said, ‘Well, you can say it, I don’t mind’.

I chewed his brains some more on how I could recite the dialogues of Sholay then and there if he wanted me to, which he politely declined,

and then I waved a happy goodbye after telling him patronizingly that I liked his other films too.

But his reply stayed with me.

How does it matter if 200 thousand, 6 hundred and seventy two people have already told you that they like your work, there is always place for the 200673rd.

Sholay

thakur & gabbar

12 comments on “sholay in 6D

  1. farzana & aliasgarmukhtiar
    January 30, 2014

    Nice Post

    • Banno
      January 30, 2014

      Thank you. :)

  2. Anu Warrier
    January 30, 2014

    Perhaps you should get drunk more often, Banno. *grin*

    And it is true isn’t it? Doesn’t matter how many people have liked your work; there’s always room for more.

    • Banno
      January 30, 2014

      Anu, Oh yes, I should. I know Teja would be a happier man, if I did. Though he often says I don’t need to take anything to get high, I am permanently stoned, anyway. :)

  3. Anjum
    January 30, 2014

    hahaha! nice post! :)

  4. Banno
    January 30, 2014

    Thank you, Anjum. :)

  5. Sabyasachi Patra
    January 30, 2014

    Interesting. One never tires of adulation…. :)

    • Banno
      January 31, 2014

      Sabyasachi, and why should one? :)

  6. Violet
    January 31, 2014

    Nice post, Banno. I’ll buy you a few beers when we meet.. and collect hugs, and hear all your stories :D

    • Banno
      January 31, 2014

      YES, Violet. :)

  7. dustedoff
    January 31, 2014

    Oh, SO true. There’s always room for a fifth person to tell me they like Muzaffar Jang. :-D

    • Banno
      January 31, 2014

      :) Well, I am always one of them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2014 by in Banno, the movies and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

