Teja asks Apple Abhijit, as we call the young man who comes in to install additional software on the Mac Notebook: “Can we get a firewire to USB cable to connect the Macbook Pro and the Notebook?”

Apple Abhijit says: “If you have internet access, you can connect both the computers. You don’t need a cable.”

I say: “But we don’t have a Wi-Fi router.”

Apple Abhijit asks: “What do you connect to the Internet with?”

Teja says: “Cable.”

Apple Abhijit says: “So the Notebook itself will work as a router, if you enable sharing.”

Teja and I look at him, our jaws hanging open, as if he himself had designed the feature.

He proceeds to show us how we can get going.

Teja asks him slyly: “For the amount we spent on the Notebook, we could have got another laptop isn’t it, with a faster processor and firewire port, etc.?”

Apple Abhijit shrugged contemptuously: “But the Apple motherboard is what makes the difference.”

I quit glaring at Teja who has been trying to insinuate for the last month that my decision to get a Notebook instead of any other laptop, is emotional like most of the decisions in my life. Teja looked suitably subdued by Apple Abhijit.

Teja offered as a token of peace: “And we wouldn’t have been able to do this Wi-Fi business on another laptop, would we?”

Apple Abhijit did not even deign to answer. He fixed an intent gaze on the Notebook, muttered some spells and threw some magic powders at it.

We took the Notebook around the house, to check the Wi-Fi range. The signal is strong in our bedroom, a little weak in Dhanno’s room.

I could not help squealing gleefully through the day: “Wasn’t I right in getting a Mac? You see, you see.”

Teja said: “What do I say? You are always right.”

Oh well! There go my plans of writing on the Notebook without internet distractions.

What was I thinking?

