The haunting music of ‘Broadchurch’, (British crime drama series, Chris Chibnall, 2013) the lingering sadness of death, of betrayal, of deceit, the breathtakingly beautiful landscape of Dorset, the quality of light, reflects everything I love about my favourite crime writers Ian Rankin, P.D. James and Alexander McCall Smith. Reflective, philosophical, triggering thoughts on family, love, forgiveness, humanity, the city, the neighborhood.

Dhanno, however, is prone to nightmares when she watches so much sadness in the evening; the music (Olafur Arnalds) disturbs her, as it is meant to do, since Chibnall says that “the entire feel of the show was inspired by Arnald’s music”.

But just so that Dhanno can go to sleep laughing, I do a wheezy, wobbly rendition of ‘Aaj Kal Tere Mere Pyaar Ke Charche Har Zubaan Par’ (a song from Brahmachari, Bhappi Sonie, 1968) for her,

and then we watch ‘Chal Chaiyya Chaiyya’ (a song from Dil Se, Mani Ratnam, 1998). She tells me she watches the song every other day. I am seeing it after a long time. I love the rhythm, the choreography so much in beat with the movement of the train. But then I wonder idly why Rajasthani gypsy-kind-of-people are going to Coonoor in a train? That makes Dhanno very angry at how I can watch nothing without thinking about it and she beats me up with a pillow.

Sometimes, you need madness to cut madness.

 

